Our Ref Your Ref Date Contact Direct Line E-mail Web Site JG C/JG 14 May 2024 Julie Gallagher 0161 253 6640 Julie.Gallagher@bury.gov.uk www.bury.gov.uk



TO: All Members of Council

Councillors : A Arif, S Arif, N Bayley, R Bernstein, D Berry, C Birchmore, C Boles, A Booth, R Brown, C Cummins, D Duncalfe, U Farooq, E FitzGerald, N Frith, I Gartside, R Gold, D Green, J Grimshaw, S Haroon, J Harris, M Hayes, J Hook, K Hussain, B Ibrahim, J Lancaster, G Marsden, L McBriar, G McGill, C Morris, E Moss, E O'Brien, T Pilkington, A Quinn, D Quinn, T Rafiq, M Rahimov, I Rizvi, M Rubinstein, J Rydeheard, L Ryder, K Simpson, L Smith, M Smith, J Southworth, G Staples-Jones, T Tariq, S Thorpe, D Vernon, S Walmsley, M Walsh and Y Wright

Dear Member/Colleague

Council

You are invited to attend a meeting of Council which will be held as follows:-

Date:	Wednesday, 22 May 2024
Place:	Bury Town Hall
Time:	4.00 pm
Briefing Facilities:	If Members require briefing on any particular item on the Agenda, the appropriate Director/Senior Officer originating the related report should be contacted.
Notes:	

AGENDA

The Agenda for the meeting is attached.

The Agenda and Reports are available on the Council's Intranet for Councillors and Officers and also on the Council's Website at www.bury.gov.uk

Yours sincerely

Ordelale

Chief Executive

(Note: Members are reminded that under Section 106 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, if a Member of a Local Authority has not paid Council Tax for at least two months and, even if an arrangement has been entered into to pay arrears, then at any meeting where consideration is given to matters relating to, or which might affect the calculation of Council Tax, that Member must declare the fact that he/she is in arrears and must not vote on the matter).

AGENDA

1 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL PART 2 - MAYOR MAKING

You are also summoned to attend Part 2 of the Annual Meeting of the Council which will be held on the above date at 4.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Bury for the purpose of transacting the following business:-

1. To elect the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/2025

2. To elect a Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/2025

3. To resolve that this Council hereby expresses its thanks to Councillor S Walmsley, Mrs G Hargreaves and Mr J Bentley for the diligent manner in which they have undertaken the duties of Mayor, Mayoress and Consort of the Metropolitan Borough of Bury during the Municipal Year now ending and places on record its appreciation of their devotion to and performance of the important duties attaching to their Offices and that Medallions be presented to them as tokens of their service as Mayor Mayoress and Consort. This page is intentionally left blank